Wine Cork Ball

I am planning Melissa’s Bridal Shower and it has a wine tasting theme. Pinterest has helped me find all sorts of DIY wine themed decorations and ideas. Of course, this also means I have overestimated my creativity and overall craftiness. I thought these Wine Cork Balls would be slightly out of my league, but they were actually really easy! It took me only about 2 hours from start to finish to make each one. (I took the cheaters way out and didn’t allow the paint to dry before hot gluing the corks to the Styrofoam).

Wine Cork Ball

1 Styrofoam ball (3 inches in diameter)
Acrylic brown paint (and foam brush)
Hot glue gun
Wine corks (approximately 75)

  1. Paint Styrofoam ball with acrylic brown paint. Allow to dry for 45 minutes.
  2. Using hot glue apply wine corks in a straight line.
  3. Hold each cork for about 30 seconds until set. 

  1. Continue until Styrofoam ball is coated. Ta-da!s 

How easy is that! For the bridal shower I made 8 of these – of varying sizes (2 inch, 3 inch and 4 inch Styrofoam balls). I plan to hang them from the roof of the tent using fishing line and picture hanging hooks. 

In order to get all my corks for the Wine Cork Balls and other wine cork decorations I have planned, I went to local vineyards and asked for spare corks.  I was lucky enough to get about 5 pounds of corks! Thank you Barrel Oak Winery and Narmada Winery for all the corks!

Wine cork ball’s and paper pom-poms hanging from the tent behind the food and wine table.

xxoo

Heather

1 Comment

Filed under Crafty

One response to “Wine Cork Ball

  1. Pingback: Melissa’s Bridal Shower « HEM

Leave a Reply

