Cinnamon Pecans

I am happy to say I have all my Christmas presents purchased and wrapped! I’ve also loaned my pretty awesome wrapping skills to a few family members and friends this year (feeling a bit like one of Santa’s elves – I know what everyone is getting!) So this weekend was devoted to Christmas baking. I spent all day Saturday baking with Tarah for her to have goodies to bring to work and then all day Sunday with my mom.  I am ready for hibernation! We made mountains of cookies and candies our house looks like the set of the Nutcracker for the Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy. ‘Tis the Season!

In college Tarah’s mom used to send us giant bags of her Cinnamon Pecans so I begged her to show me how to make them this weekend. I could not believe how easy they were to make! (And just as yummy as I remember!)

Ingredients
2 egg whites
1 lb pecans (whole)
1 cup sugar
1 stick of butter
1 teaspoon cinnamon

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees
  2. Line a jelly-roll pan with pecans spread evenly.
  3. Melt the butter
  4. Beat egg whites and sugar for about a minute until light and foamy
  5. Add in butter and cinnamon
  6. Pour evenly over pecans
  7. Bake for 40 minutes, stirring pecans and flipping them every 10 minutes
  8. Transfer to a large bowl to allow to cool

 

CinnamonPecans

 

Merry Christmas!

Leave a comment

Filed under American, Christmas Cookies

Leave a comment